Five Guys is a beloved burger chain with over 1,500 Five Guys locations around the world. Sadly, though, they only have two items on their menu that are vegan.
I thoroughly went through their allergens list and this is what you can have. This info is valid as of 12/12/2021 but can change at any time.
So let’s check out the vegan options at Five Guys!
Plain fries
The fries are pretty much all that they prepare that is vegan. They’re also the only item on the menu that is fried, so you don’t have to worry about cross-contamination (like if they fried chicken fingers in the same oil).
The ingredients are potatoes, peanut oil, and salt.
Cajun fries
The ingredients are the same as the regular fries, but with a Cajun seasoning blend which consists of garlic, onion, paprika, oregano, white pepper, red pepper, and spice.
“Spice.” Hmm. Not sure what that means, but the Cajun fries are listed as being vegan on multiple sources, so I’m going to venture to say that there aren’t any animal products in this mysterious “spice.”
Peanuts
Something cool about Five Guys is that they serve free peanuts to customers in their restaurants.
The only ingredient in their peanuts is… peanuts! And a salt solution. You’re good to go with these.
At least you can get in a little free protein during your Five Guys visit. ;)
Sauces
You can also enjoy your fries with some of their sauces! But not all of them. Some of them, like mayonnaise, do contain animal products.
Here are their vegan sauces:
- Ketchup
- Relish
- BBQ Sauce
- Mustard
- Hot Sauce
- A1 Original Steak Sauce
Five Guys vegan veggies
Here’s what else they have at Five Guys that you can eat. I’m not quite sure what you’d do with it other than snack on it, but sometimes the situation is desperate. So here you go!
- Mushrooms
- Jalapeno Peppers
- Green peppers
- Onions (grilled + raw)
- Pickles
- Tomatoes
- Lettuce
Are the veggie burgers vegan?
You’d think, right? But unfortunately, the buns contain milk and eggs. So, no, the veggie burger isn’t vegan.
The veggie burger consists of mushrooms, grilled onions, and green peppers, and it’s layered with lettuce and tomatoes. The bun isn’t vegan but if you ask for lettuce as a bun, then it would be vegan.
However, Five Guys has confirmed that its cooked vegetables are cooked on the same grill as the meat. So their vegan veggies could very well have a bit of meat in it as the grill wouldn’t be thoroughly cleaned between every item that’s cooked.
Drinks
They also have several soft drinks that are vegan (as most soft drinks are). They usually have Coca-Cola sodas and juices. Their offering varies by location, so once you get there, just google whatever they have in case you’re unsure.
Unfortunately, the milkshakes are not vegan-friendly.
You’ve definitely got very limited options at Five Guys if you’re vegan. But the fries are actually really good, and there’s no risk of cross-contamination in the fryer, so it could be worse. Enjoy the fries!